Montgomery, Alabama; the state capital, lies along the southern bank of the Alabama River, about 6 miles downstream from the confluence of the Coosa and Tallapoosa Rivers. She is blessed with short, mild winters, warm springs and autumns, and long, hot, humid summers.


Wetumpka is the county seat for Elmore County located 17 miles north of Montgomery along Hwy 231. It was originally a Creek Indian town at the fall line on the Coosa River where the state changes from coastal plain to the Appalachian foothills. The 2000 Census put the population at 5726 and it consistently ranks as one of the fastest growing counties in the state.


Prattville is located 13 miles north of Montgomery across the Alabama River on I-65 or Hwy 31 in Autauga County with a small portion dangling into Elmore County. It serves as the county seat for Autauga County and was founded in 1839 by Daniel Pratt, an antebellum industrialist, who used the power of Autauga Creek to operate his cotton gin factory. Due to its close proximity and easy access on two four-lane highways, a large number of personnel stationed at Maxwell Air Force Base call Prattville home. Prattville is also home to Capitol Hill, part of the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail with three 18-hole championship courses and to the Prattville Lions, 6A state football champs for โ€™06, โ€™07 and โ€™08.